A summary so far:
I was knocked off my bike by a careless driver about a month ago. She realised her error, was very apologetic, and provided details at the scene, as did a witness who was driving behind me. I wasn't badly hurt beyond cuts and bruises, but my clothes were ruined. It was a struggle to report to the police owing to the need to report it in person at a police station that's only open for 2 hours per week, but the driver's insurers were more helpful.
And now
After a pleasant break over Easter, I arrived home to find that the driver's insurers had offered me £600 in compensation, a little over the £500 I had asked for, but with the caveat that I would need to accept this as full and final settlement. This seemed fair, it was enough to replace the damaged clothes which was really what I was asking for. I completed their form, signed it, got it witnessed, and sent it back today. I think now I just wait for payment so will go through the embarrassing process of getting my measurements made next week.
I won't expect a reply from the police, although they may acknowledge that I reported it.
Epilogue
Despite this happy resolution, it bugs me that the worse the driver behaves - the less they are penalised, and that incentivises drivers to leave pedestrians and riders in the road after an accident. They can't easily be traced unless a passer-by is quick-witted enough to take their registration plate, and therefore will never face any sanctions. Drivers who admit liability and stop to help will their insurance records impacted, but nothing further. Those who follow procedure and not only stop, but report the accident to the police, could end up with a fine and points on their license. Its no wonder that many drivers simply drive on after colliding with cyclists.